Florida Medical Marijuana Laws
Florida’s medical marijuana law allows qualified patients to possess and use cannabis. To qualify, you must first be diagnosed by a physician and enter into the state’s medical marijuana registry.
The OMMU oversees the patient registry and licenses medical marijuana treatment centers to grow, process, and dispense cannabis to qualified patients. Visit the OMMU to learn more.
What is Medical Marijuana?
Medical marijuana is defined by Florida law as a plant of the genus cannabis, including flowers, seeds, resin, compounds, salts, derivatives, mixtures, or any other plant preparation that contains a concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) not greater than.8% and a concentration of cannabidiol (CBD) not less than 10%. It is regulated as medicine and only available to registered patients.
A patient must first see a qualified physician and have the doctor assess their need for medical marijuana to treat their qualifying condition. Patients can visit their doctor in person or via telehealth.
Florida law requires a registered patient to designate a caregiver. This person is allowed to purchase and possess medical marijuana on behalf of the patient. A caregiver can also assist the patient in obtaining medical marijuana from a dispensary. However, a caregiver must not share their marijuana with anyone else. Florida law permits police to search a vehicle with marijuana inside it when they have probable cause to believe that the vehicle is carrying contraband or evidence of a crime.
Who Can Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card?
Patients must be Florida residents and have one of the state-approved conditions: cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Crohn’s disease, or Parkinson’s disease. Children can also receive a medical marijuana card if both their primary care physician and a board-certified specialist confirm that they have a debilitating condition.
The doctor must agree that the patient will benefit from cannabis therapy and certify this to the OMMU (Office of Medical Marijuana Use). Patients under 18 can have a caregiver who can purchase and possess their medicine on their behalf. Caregivers must agree to assist the patient and complete a caregiver training course.
Once the physician enters their recommendation into OMMU, patients will be contacted via email and asked to create an account online. From there, patients can pay their $75 application fee and begin to legally obtain medical marijuana in the state of Florida. The patient must visit their doctor (in-person) every 210 days to re-certify that they are still eligible for medical marijuana.
How Do I Get a Medical Marijuana Card?
While marijuana is federally classified as a Schedule I drug and remains illegal under the Controlled Substances Act (CSA), Florida laws and regulations allow qualified patients to possess and use medical cannabis. However, it must be purchased from a licensed MMTC and used according to Florida law. The state defines “marijuana” as all parts of the marijuana plant, including seeds and resin; any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of those plant parts; or low-THC cannabis dispensed for medical use by a licensed physician at a registered medical marijuana treatment center.
To become a patient, you must find a doctor who can prescribe medical marijuana and schedule an appointment to be assessed. Many clinics have qualified physicians affiliated with them, which streamlines the process. Once approved, the Florida Department of Health will send you a confirmation email with your Patient ID number. This is a temporary ID that you can use to purchase marijuana until your physical card arrives in the mail.
Where Can I Buy Medical Marijuana in Florida?
Under Florida medical marijuana laws, patients can only buy cannabis from licensed dispensaries called medical marijuana treatment centers (MMTCs). You can find a list of Florida MMTC locations using a free dispensary locator service such as WeedMaps or the OMMU’s list. Florida law only allows a patient or caregiver to possess up to a 35-day supply of smokable cannabis and 4 ounces of edibles at any given time.
In order to legally purchase cannabis in Florida, you must have a valid MMJ card. Veriheal can help you book an appointment with a medical marijuana doctor in your area who can evaluate your ailments and medical condition to see if you qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation. Once approved, your doctor will submit all necessary information to the OMMU to receive your MMJ card. Your card will remain active for 210 days and must be renewed every 210 days. You can only smoke medical marijuana in private and are prohibited from driving while using cannabis.